Saved by a Lagos taxi driver…….Lagos na wa!

Posted on Updated on

taxi
Americans have Superman, Britain has James Bond, Nigeria has emm….emmm. Well for me, Nigeria doesn’t really have a branded super hero, or so i thought until last night. I finished late from an appointment at Victoria Island, Lagos and i chattered a Taxi back to the mainland. As we drove on the Marina bridge, i became a lil’ bit apprehensive because of the notorierity of that vicinity.That spot is usually not too safe by that time of the night, worse still, there was traffic.

Lagos Island
Lagos Island
BRT00334 Lagos  Nigeria
Usually, if i was driving, i would have wound up all the windows and locked all the doors and brandished my pistol with one hand…..ok, just joking, maybe my cutlass…..lol..still joking, but today i had to board a cab and so there i sat in the back seat with the windows wound down (no air-condition) and i was just praying that one stupid robber wouldn’nt just appear and attempt to rob me. While i was still in that stae of mind, alas! a robber showed up at my window.
thief “bros, find me something”
He began blabbing in yoruba and the only part i understood was when he asked me to give him my money. Guys i was still dumb-struck, i mean how can one just be thinking of something one minute and suddenly it happens. As the robber was inching closer to me, i was shifting towards the other door, thinking of what next to do…..’should i give him money?, should i give him my phone?, should i form “avengers” and harrass him back?” I just didn’t get it. Why was this happening just 3 weeks to my birthday too? The last time I was in this kind of situation, I actually lost two of my phones. I was still in this confused state of mind, as the robber persisted, when suddenly……ghen ghen…..the taxi driver came to my rescue!.

Immediately he began to shout and curse at the robber. He accosted the robber in yoruba language so i didnt really know what he was saying, “i just sabi say the guy dey bail me”. As he challenged the robber, the robber left me and faced him, asking him to mind his business, but my super hero taxi driver did not budge an inch, rather he challenged the robber the more and he did all this while driving in traffic. At a point, the taxi driver made as though he was about to reach out for a weapon. This drama went on for about some minutes and while they were at each others throats, i calmly wound up the two windows by my side (as a sharp guy).

Finally, the taxi diver over-powered the robber verbally and he gave up, banging his hand on the taxi as he left in frustration. It was a case of “bad market” for him. I got to my destination safely and had all my belongings intact, courtesy of the brave taxi driver.

God’s word is true. Indeed “no weapon fashioned against us shall prosper”. A regular taxi driver would have just “faced front” or even bailed out of the taxi but not this one. God made sure I wasn’t stranded. To him be all the glory.

Home sweet home..... Home sweet home

Don’t miss my next post as I’ll blog about another Nigerian Super Hero. His name is Prince Emeka and he’s somewhere in Anambra state. Also, coming soon,” what do you do in case of rape?” I know nobody prays to be in such a situation but read it up all the same. You might just help someone. Knowledge is power.

Its finally here !!!:

Music and Miracles

Music and Miracles

Guys you can’t afford to miss “MUSIC & MIRACLES,- with EBEN, MK,Alabaster & Don praisy, Rev Dammy Timothy(UK), pls bring someone along, Date : May 1st, 2013. TIME-5pm, @ Davids Christian Centre, fatgbems bus stop, Behind Nepa office Amuwo/ mile 2.
Your host is my Pastor, Kingsley Okonkwo.

4 thoughts on “Saved by a Lagos taxi driver…….Lagos na wa!

    Holy Writer said:
    May 1, 2013 at 2:19 pm

    Hmmmn, interesting piece!

      Johnson Ifeanyi Madichie responded:
      May 1, 2013 at 2:27 pm

      @ holy Writer, thanks but its not a piece o, its a true story. Happened to me last night, but god pass them.

    onyeka udemezue said:
    May 1, 2013 at 2:49 pm

    God still saves.

    Olufunke Ademuwagun said:
    May 3, 2013 at 6:50 am

    Wow!!!! I thank God for you….its the Lord’s doing and its marvelous in our sight. To Him alone be all the glory. One more thing….you need to learn Yoruba o. How many years have you being in Lagos? Lol. His GRACE is always surficient for us. Congrats…

Leave a Reply

