Pastor Biodun Fatoyinbo and COZA…..and where i stand

Posted on Updated on

Some years ago, while observing my NYSC in Ilorin, the kwara state capital, I was invited to a certain church for a sunday service. Back then, I was actively involved with NCCF (Nigerian Christian Corpers Fellowship) as the state Bible Study co-ordinator or “Rabbi” as  I was fondly called and as corpers, we didn’t hold our own church service or felllowship till about 2pm or so on sundays. This gave us the room to attend any church service in the morning.

I've always been a media person. Just that blogging hadn't started then
I’ve always been a media person. Just that blogging hadn’t started then

“COZA” hmmmm……” sounded a little different and somewhat unique for the name of a church” I thought and so I attended. The venue was somewhere around Fate / Tanke road, on the way towards University of Ilorin. I got there and found out that COZA was an acronym for Commonwealth of Zion Assembly. After the praise and worship session, it was time for the word of God and a young dynamic pastor emerged on the altar and preached with so much wisdom, annointing and insight. Wow! This was just awesome! ” I thought to myself. No wonder the upcoming church then, and the pastor were making so much waves in Ilorin…….and I also got to find out the pastors name. He was Pastor Biodun Fatoyinbo.imagesijo

Now if you know anything about the spiritual relevance of Kwara state in the body of Christ, you will know that its no little feat to start and grow a church there if God did not call you because Kwara is like the “Jerusalem” of sorts for major christian ministries in Nigeria like Rhema Bible Church, living Faith church etc. Most major christian ministries either started from there or the men of God who started them came from there so you have to be “really” called of God to successfully start a church there.

Well, I had a nice time at the service at COZA on that particular sunday and afterwords I relocated to Lagos after concluding my youth service in Ilorin. That was my first encounter with Pastor Biodun and his ministry. As the years rolled by, I learnt about the progress and dynamic growth of the church which was now in Abuja and I wasn’t surprised.yhgijnbic

Now in the past few days, the media has been replete and awash with stories and controversies here and there about Pastor Fatoyinbo and a former member of his church. I’m really not gonna bother with the details of the controversy ‘cos that’s not my aim here. Neither am I going to castigate or criticize any of the parties involved because I’m not a judge. What I will do however is to share my opinion and register my displeasure on the attitude of christians who ought to know better than to castigate and criticize someone just because of stories of alleged infidelity flying here and there. This has really been a pain in my mind and please permit me to voice out my unreserved emotions about this. Again, remember as you read this that my aim is not to determine the authenticity, veracity or otherwise of the controversy because quite frankly, I’m not even qualified to do that and I believe NOBODY is. So, if you logged on to this blog hoping to read juicy details of the controversy, then you will be very very disappointed.uygu

I wasn’t going to talk about this initially but as the days went by, it hurt me and I was baffled at the sheer display of callous ignorance by not just people, but by christians who have constituted spiritual kangaroo courts everywhere and are judging a matter which they ordinarily should leave for God.

This was my initial response to the whole saga………..Screen_20130826_060030
…but owing to my disappointment as to the way church folks in particular are handling this, I now feel the need to air my full opinion. Like I said to someone, for me, this whole issue isn’t really about Pastor Biodun Fatoyinbo or COZA but its about how the church and Christians can defend what we believe and preach. My pastor said last sunday that its only in the christian kingdom that an army shoots its wounded soldiers. That’s exactly what is going on here. Christians seem to even be the ones doing more of the condemnation and castigation and this reminds me of what happened to Jesus himself. It was the same people he healed and blessed that shouted “crucify him, crucify him!!!”.iojkm

My personal policy in life is NEVER to condemn anyone whether guilty or not. I’m even more careful when it comes to men of God and believe me, its not just because the bible says “touch not my anointed servants and do my prophets no harm”. Its just because of three simple reasons:

1. I believe that I am not God to judge.
2. I believe that no body is perfect
3. I also believe that I might not be better than the accused so who am I to judge.

I was personally pained when I saw the reactions and responses of people who I assumed and thought were christians when this matter arose. Christians everywhere were making mockery and jest of the situation with derogatory pictures and comments on BBM, facebook and other social media. I’m particularly sick of bloggers writing trash about what they have no clue about and “cashing in” on this to reach maximum hits on their blog.  For them, they are merely “exposing the devil” but for me, they are shouting “crucify him!”. Was that really supposed to be our response? Have we finished dealing with our own personal lives, challenges and problems for us now to become judges in another mans life? Do we really think that the best response to an accusation is for us to declare that the accused is guilty based on our own wicked hearts?images

I personally believe that this whole issue has been blown out of proportions simply because a Pastor is involved. Its “okay” for a christian to sin and we overlook it but when it involves a pastor, we immediately bring out the noose and become emergency hang men, ready to carry out an execution. We become the judge and jury at the same time. People have asked me why hasn’t Pastor Biodun come out to openly deny the allegation and my response was that’s its not necessary. No matter how much you try to cover a lie, one day, the truth will emerge if it is a lie. Remember the story in Acts 5:25-40 where Peter and the apostles were accused by the senate of preaching and were about to be condemned but a wise scholar among the council called Gamaliel had enough sense to tell the accusers to let the matter be because if their gospel was authentic, then there would be nothing they could do to stop it but if they were fake, then it will just be a matter of time for them to be exposed. Besides, no matter how hard you try to defend yourself from an accusation, people will still believe what they want to believe anyway, so why bother. God is the defender of his kingdom and He will defend it. He said so Himself “…upon this rock I would build my church and the gates of hell shall not prevail against it….”

So instead of trying to find out whether he is guilty or not, I’d rather channel all that energy to run my own personal race as a christian because on the judgment day, “everybody go answer him papa name”.ccccc

Like I said earlier, for me, its not just about Pastor Biodun and COZA. Its about the entire body of Christ. When it comes to the church, people just have a way of carrying a matter on their head as though they are spiritual lawyers and prosecutors. Another popular ministry in lagos is currently under attack by a CD in circulation which is bent on “exposing” the church. I was somewhere over the weekend and a hawker mounted speakers in an open place and he was playing the CD so loud so everyone would hear, and trust ignorant christians, they were all coming to buy the CD. I asked myself “why are we christians like this?” I’d rather buy a CD that will teach me about the word of God and improve my spiritual life than buy a CD that allegedly “exposes” a church and fills my heart with nothing but resentment. The truth however is, if they did it to Jesus, then we can and should expect such too.jm

Thank God though for Christians who have enough spiritual sense to support their own. Thank God for christians who believe that God is the only judge. Thank God for fellow believers who have decided not to allow their minds to be polluted despite all the condemnation,castigation and controversy. I have a couple of them on my BBM ………..

Screen_20130826_15436

Screen_20130826_154642 Screen_20130826_154719 Screen_20130826_154745 Screen_20130826_154330 Screen_20130826_172222

I came across lots of responses as I sought to know the level of spiritual maturity among people, especially people who may have never heard of Pastor Fatoyinbo and COZA and I must say that this one has got to be my favourite response………………..Screen_20130827_062739and thank God for this response from someone who should know all about criticism, castigation and condemnation because he too has been there………….

Screen_20130827_055542

So my fellow Christians, let’s stop shooting our own soldiers. Let’s stop killing our wounded. Rather, let’s focus on what God has called us to do, and that is to draw all men unto Him. In the end, I believe that just like the case of Joseph, what the devil intended for evil will work out for good.

I am Johnson Madichie and this is where I stand.
coza(1)

Up next JM blog, if you missed MK’s concert last sunday, fear not ‘cos I’ve got all the details, but you still missed sha. Like one of my Favourite and FAB bloggers Eziaha said, “I will only try”.IMG_20130825_212445

Also, I,ve got a lot to say about the Governor Suntai of Taraba state as well as other topical issues too, so make it a date.

Thats all for now guys. Thanks for stopping by and be sure to stay tuned for more. Remember, “Every man will have his day”

Johnson Madichie is a social blogger based in Lagos, Nigeria and affects the world from there.

Contact me
E-mail – johnsonmadichie@yahoo.co.uk
Twiiter – @johnsonmadichie
Facebook – Johnson Ifeanyi Madichie
Mobile – +2348055940573
BB Pin – 333526F7

24 thoughts on “Pastor Biodun Fatoyinbo and COZA…..and where i stand

    mcieonnanna said:
    August 27, 2013 at 5:57 am

    Superb! # wejustlovethebrotherhood# p.s. They’ve forgotten that for us no matter wt victory is assured. Heheheheh!

    E' said:
    August 27, 2013 at 6:11 am

    Oh I absolutely love the last guy’s stand….
    Keep my mouth totally shut…
    NO WORDS…
    Cos in a case like this, that’s the wisdom for me!!!
    Oh well, one thing I can say is that Pastor Biodun is fine sha… (Pardon me, I like fooooiiiinnnneeee guys abeg) and a killer dresser!!!
    Chai… #TeamChai#
    Loooooool
    I attended COZA once in Abuja just to see the church and see him…
    *coveringmyeyes*
    Hehehe
    E’

    sunday nzube said:
    August 27, 2013 at 7:42 am

    Beautiful piece only God knws d truth as u dnt knw keepin quiet s d best option.more power to ur elbow mr johnson

    onyeka udemezue said:
    August 27, 2013 at 7:46 am

    I love your write-ups JM. Brilliant and always on point.

    Gabby said:
    August 27, 2013 at 7:52 am

    This is one of the most educating/intelligent/relevant/resourceful features I have ever read of a Nigerian blog!

    catherine said:
    August 27, 2013 at 7:54 am

    Johnson u couldn’t have said it better o, we christians should learn 2keep our mouths shut. Well done

    Chiugo said:
    August 27, 2013 at 9:41 am

    Wen shall we christians learn to mind d biz of Him who has called us and leave d devil and his own to its own biz? Y do we call ourselves soldiers of God and yet work for d kingdom of d devil (and I guess still expect to be paid by God)? Y don’t we christians allow d world criticise him and we encourage and pray for him? All most christians do is allow demselves to be recruited be d devil in d name of condemning evil. How many of his critics are better dan him. Let’s not loose focus on d fact dat Christ is coming soon (which is wot d devil is doing by diz attacks) and stay criticising and d person u criticise joins Jesus in d case of d sound of d trumpet. The bible says ‘he who thinks he stands… Wake up christians!

    Agbani Jessica said:
    August 27, 2013 at 1:15 pm

    Jay…nice one…his silence is best in dis kind of situation and we should know dat he’s a Man of God…..pls learn to kip quiet wen it comes to Men of God o,dey wea chosen by God so let’s respect Dem…..gud work Jay

    Christy said:
    August 27, 2013 at 3:46 pm

    NICE ONE BRO.

    femi said:
    August 27, 2013 at 6:24 pm

    Its ok for u to like ur pastor but for God sake evry leader shld b accountabl,no one hs askd for too much by telling him to say yes or no,evn d disciples questioned Jesus wen dey heard tins frm outside n needed him to clarify. Do u tnk d presidents spokesperson replies to rumours n all bcos he feels like?Its bcos dey OWE it to their followers. Nigeria wil NEVER b gud wt dis attitude. Hv u tot of d souls dat will go to hell if dis is true?for evry ese n frnaca n odas we dnt hear bout,do u knw how hard it will b for dem believin any word frm d altar n d bible generally again?Please b objective in all ur dealings,leader must b accountabl to dose bein led..simple

    nnamo said:
    August 27, 2013 at 6:24 pm

    Well spoken bro J, this is a trying time 4 d church and believers. We need 2 pray Fø̲̣̣я̅ our spiritual leaders cos they need our prayers and support. Its only Gods grace and mercies that will help us stand †ђε test of times. It is well…..

    sir william oilwells said:
    August 27, 2013 at 8:23 pm

    They can’t Sink the Unsinkable.. And if God condemns you not, what can Man do??

    Ogbale isaac said:
    August 28, 2013 at 5:25 am

    Thanks a lot Jonhson beliv me am jst hearing about this for the first time. I also attended COZA while I went to work at Ilorin for about a month also though its now located at Stella Obasanjo.believe its a place to worship and permit to say its just like my house(DCC) that aside it beats me hollow when people that call themselves christian opens their mouth to say rubbish about a man of God and reverse is the is case when its the muslims(you can never hear anything about them) even when somthing goes wrong and really think christian should correct that attitude.(May God have mercy on them). And on MKs concert hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm I choose to remain silent cos am still yet to recover from the over flow of God’s pressence.

    'Karo Ossai said:
    August 29, 2013 at 10:13 am

    Fantastic write up Mr Johnson. This is probably the best I’ve read so far. Its an attack on the church (body of Christ) not just a man. One scripture come to my mind; ….when d enemy comes, like a flood the Spirit of God shall lift up a standard against him. When we over come Persecution, it always result in growth. This too shall pass and He and the church will overcome.

    Ladenegan Olukayode said:
    August 29, 2013 at 3:57 pm

    Great write up bro, will be a frequent visitor on ur blog!!!!

    jAnet said:
    August 30, 2013 at 11:25 pm

    Hmm my presido.A good one ds wil rather make him more popular in d xtiandom.Usualy wen I see coza I usually think is ds popular coza IV card.Now I come to know d man and d ministry.As for xtian judging him may God v mercy on them.I dnt even v details of d Allegation.But let even assume it is d truth wat is our role as xtins in restoring fallen xtians.But I can tell u it is to make him stronger,better n bigger.ask pst Chris Oyakhilome n Pst oyedepo.Me I no dey judge men of God because God personally spoke to me about judging in his kingdom.I end wit ds if u stick to d word u wil come back wit a testimony.let’s wait and watch.Jonhson tnx 4 d instructions n write up

    Duru said:
    September 3, 2013 at 11:03 am

    Writer, I don’t get your point, are you saying the girl lied or that the Pastor ‘did it’ but it is nobody’s business and that Christians should protect him instead of attacking him?
    Men of God are at a pedestal whether they accept it or not and their should magnify and dignify their offices, this includes not giving any room for some girl to accuse them of any wrong doing. Agreed they are human beings but they should carry certain graces that should distinguish them and that is why we are commanded to ‘esteem them highly’.
    An allegation as serious as this is made against a Man of God that I believe many look up to, he is yet to affirm or deny it, and you are saying we should keep quiet and ignore it?
    Let the Man of God categorically deny the allegations and move on or admit, dust up, and move on.

    Fate said:
    September 4, 2013 at 9:35 am

    Spoken like a true COZA member……

    Chichi said:
    September 8, 2013 at 1:58 pm

    My Dear Brother, Pls be careful in your analysis. If U critisize those who condemn Pastor Biodun’s actions then U’re already guilty of judging them Urself. If U want to be quiet like Pastor Biodun,then be quiet and don’t analyse anyone’s actions. If U’re blaming those who condemned His actions,then have U read what the Bible says about immorality in the Church. 1st Cor 5:1-5. Going by that instruction, those criticising him are on the right track. No one has the right to condemn a man’s sins. But U see if he has at one time or the other preached against adultery(which i’m sure he has) then he deserves what he got. Anyone who knows he is ony human(which we all are) should avoid condemning pple when they are preaching. If U attend some churches and see the way some pastors preach, U’ll wonder if they don’t sin. Now when they fall into temptation, they expect sympathy. Pastor Biodun,pls for the sake of those U inspire, those whom U mentor. If U are innocent, just come out and deny these allegations. U don’t have to trade words with her. Just come out and say it’s not true. And for those church members who pledge their loyalty to a pastor instead of to Jesus Christ, be careful! Don’t take sides with what is evil. I don’t support her going to the social media to expose him but she mentioned something like those who know such things happen in the church and keep quiet about it. What i expect COZA members to do is to dare this girl to come out with the video. Why would someone claim she has pictures and voicenotes of such a Great Man of God if it isn’t true. My Dear Pastor, Pls if she’s saying the truth, just turn to God and ask for forgiveness. His Grace is sufficient for Us. Then U must never critisize prostitutes in Ur Preaching but must draw them Close and teach them about the amazing grace of God. As for the lady,Pls forgive him. For U to say U have the tape and videos and for U to dare him to deny it and he still kept mute,then it must be true. I don’t believe the story that pple advised him not to talk. But Pls forgive him and destroy those tapes. If it comes out it might affect his Ministry and Marriage. Pls think about it. Would U want to divide what God has joined? God Bless Us all.

    toyin said:
    February 23, 2014 at 12:15 am

    Chichi and Duru,

    God bless you

Leave a Reply

